Efficient House Cleaning Guide for Full-Time Workers

Sometimes life can get in the way of things… Like cleaning your home. But, if you don’t keep up with it, the work will keep on piling up. Then, cleaning your home starts to seem worse and worse… etc. Let’s not let it get to that point.

So why keep up with cleaning your space? I don’t think I need to explain this too much, but reasons include:

  • Hygiene
  • You’ll feel comfortable having people over (especially surprise guests)
  • Peace of mind
  • Conserves willpower for more worthy tasks
  • Helps you start your day

To make this easy for you, I’ve broken tasks down to a daily and weekly basis. These tasks will take only 30 minutes a day, but you’ll have all the benefits just mentioned ;-).

What to Do on a Daily Basis

Spend 10 minutes every morning and 10 minutes every evening doing the following tasks.

b2f8595e-a8b5-45a2-9cef-cbd7ee5ee2b9.jpg

Morning – 10 Minutes

  • Make bed.
  • Spray shower (I use method’s daily shower cleaner).
  • Wipe bathroom sink and counter. Use the product that best suits your counter. I use 409. You can use a Clorox wipe too.
  • Empty dishwasher (or put away dry dishes).
  • If you made breakfast, wipe down kitchen counters (I use 409).
  • If you used the stove, wipe it with a sponge.

Evening – 10 Minutes

  • If you had dinner at home, wipe down kitchen counter tops (I use 409).
  • Load dishes (or do them if you don’t have a dishwasher).
  • Spot vacuum (different for everyone). I do my bedroom because I have dark wooden floors, two cats, and one dog. Depending on if I see a lot of pet hair or not, I’ll do the downstairs rug by my couch. Spot vacuuming is literally whatever you think is getting the dirtiest.
  • Pick up and put away clutter before you go to bed.

What to Do on a Weekly Basis

Even though you’re going to be doing relatively small tasks on a daily basis, add just one big task each day. Depending on how big your space is, these “bigger tasks” should only take 10-15 minutes.

Monday

Dust (just being honest, I don’t really do this, but I should).

Tuesday

Bathrooms and shower. (Lysol and Scrubbing Bubbles).

b3c16edf-a682-4f54-89aa-418abd974c61

Wednesday

Vacuum and mop (in that order). You obviously will not need to spot vacuum on this day. If you’re not sure how to mop, here is a guide. When mopping, I use Pledge Floor Care.

f571b634-9302-453b-855a-6e902798d451-1

Thursday

Mirrors and windows (I use Grab Green Glass Cleaner).

d9636620-7928-42d6-bf9a-f26cd66c7a9c

Friday

Clean fridge (get rid of leftovers and wipe down inside and outside). Wipe down microwave inside and outside. And while you’re at it, clean the kitchen sink.

8e8c754a-cd38-4154-93d4-d48fd9414a7a

Saturday

Laundry. Wash your bed sheets too! I do this in the morning.

a181cedf-6bc7-4c75-986f-6b422ccbdac8

Take Sunday off, and then repeat!

Of course, this list does not include deep cleaning.

If you’re looking for some higher intensity cleaning tips, check out this Excel spreadsheet I found on Money Crashers.

It is insane… It incorporates deep cleaning, grocery shopping, AND yard work into a four-week routine. It’s worth checking out if you want to micromanage yourself and/or others in your household.

button_download-cleaning-schedule-excel-template

Leave a Reply

